
Nutricost
EAA Powder
A budget EAA powder at about $0.67 a serving that includes all nine essential amino acids, but 6 of its 8 g are BCAAs and several others are only token amounts.

A hugely popular caffeinated amino drink: 100 mg natural caffeine plus a 5 g proprietary amino blend led by taurine, glutamine and arginine, so EAA doses are unknown.
Mixed
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
Essential AMIN.O. Energy is a well-liked, Informed Choice certified drink mix with a moderate caffeine dose and excellent flavors. As an amino acid supplement it disappoints: the proprietary blend hides every dose and is led by non-essential amino acids. Buy it for taste and a mild energy lift, not for muscle building.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Essential AMIN.O. Energy is one of Optimum Nutrition's best-known products and a staple 'anytime' drink mix. Two scoops (9 g) deliver 100 mg of caffeine from green tea and green coffee bean extracts plus 5 g of amino acids, with zero sugar and 14 flavors. The Watermelon listing on Amazon alone has more than 12,700 ratings averaging 4.6 stars, and ON's support site lists the product as Informed Choice certified.
Judged as an amino acid supplement, it is weak. The 5 g 'Amino Blend' is proprietary, so individual amounts are not disclosed, and within a blend ingredients are listed from most to least by weight. This one starts with taurine, glutamine and arginine before any essential amino acid, places beta-alanine and citrulline in the middle and does not list tryptophan at all, so it is not a complete essential amino acid source. The ISSN's protein position stand points to essential amino acids, with 700–3,000 mg of leucine per protein dose, as what drives muscle protein synthesis; how much leucine this product provides cannot be determined from the label.
What buyers actually get is a pleasant, moderately caffeinated drink. buyers overwhelmingly praise the taste and describe energy without jitters, though some report nausea or stomach cramps, and ON's label notes that beta-alanine can cause a harmless, temporary tingling. At roughly $0.79 to $0.92 per serving, it is reasonably priced for what it is.
If you are sensitive to caffeine, count it toward your daily total; the label warns against combining it with other caffeine sources.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Amino Blend (proprietary) Taurine, glutamine and arginine are listed first; amounts of leucine and other essential amino acids are not disclosed. | 5 g | Taurine, glutamine and arginine are listed first; amounts of leucine and other essential amino acids are not disclosed. |
| Caffeine (from green tea and green coffee bean extracts) A moderate dose; count it toward your total daily caffeine intake. | 100 mg | A moderate dose; count it toward your total daily caffeine intake. |
| Beta-alanine Part of the proprietary blend; may cause a harmless, temporary tingling sensation. | — | Part of the proprietary blend; may cause a harmless, temporary tingling sensation. |
Flavors & variants
Testing & quality
Gold Standard 100% Whey, Gold Standard 100% Isolate, Essential AMIN.O. Energy, Creatine and Glutamine are Informed Choice certified (per the brand); other products are not all certified, so check each label.
Independent creators reviewing Essential AMIN.O. Energy on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

Nutricost
A budget EAA powder at about $0.67 a serving that includes all nine essential amino acids, but 6 of its 8 g are BCAAs and several others are only token amounts.

Xtend
A best-selling BCAA drink: 7 g BCAAs, glutamine and electrolytes with zero sugar, but BCAAs add little if you already eat enough protein.

Thorne
A well-balanced, NSF Certified for Sport EAA formula with 1.25 g leucine per scoop, but only about 4 g of amino acids for roughly $1.73 a serving.

Transparent Labs
Clean-label BCAA drink with 8 g fermented BCAAs, 5 g glutamine and no artificial sweeteners, but about $1.33 a serving and 1,500 mg of vitamin C per scoop.

Ashwagandha has real trials for stress and sleep, rare but serious liver risks and growing regulatory scrutiny. What extract names mean and which doses were studied.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Collagen has dozens of trials behind it, but much of the research is industry-funded. What holds up for skin, joints and hair, plus the doses studies used.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

How much creatine to take for your weight, whether to load, and what research says about water weight, hair loss, kidneys, the brain and pricier forms.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026