
Transparent Labs
100% Grass-Fed Whey Protein Isolate
A grass-fed whey isolate with 28 g of protein per scoop, stevia instead of artificial sweeteners, and NSF Certified for Sport status.

The benchmark whey blend: 24 g of protein per 120-calorie scoop, Informed Choice certified, and a flavor lineup few rivals can match.
Excellent
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
Gold Standard 100% Whey remains a default recommendation for good reason: a lean 24 g protein dose, banned-substance certification, and taste and mixability endorsed across about 100,000 buyer ratings. It is no longer a bargain, and the concentrate and artificial sweetener will not suit everyone, but few powders balance quality, variety and availability this well.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Gold Standard 100% Whey has been the reference point for mainstream protein powder for decades, and the current formula still explains why. Each 31 g scoop of Double Rich Chocolate delivers 24 g of protein from a blend of whey protein isolate, whey protein concentrate and hydrolyzed whey, with isolate listed first. That works out to roughly 77% protein by weight, alongside 3 g of carbohydrate, 1 g of sugar and 1.5 g of fat.
The dose sits inside the 20 to 40 g range that research associates with a strong muscle protein synthesis response after resistance training, and whey's naturally high leucine content is why it remains the most studied protein source for that purpose. Optimum Nutrition states 5.5 g of naturally occurring BCAAs per serving.
Quality credentials are solid. The product is Informed Choice certified, meaning it is regularly tested for banned substances, which matters for drug-tested athletes. The label is fully disclosed with no proprietary blend, although the brand does not publish the isolate-to-concentrate ratio or batch-level certificates of analysis.
Across roughly 100,000 buyer ratings, buyers consistently praise the taste, the creamy texture and how easily it mixes, especially with milk. The recurring complaints are digestive discomfort for some users, the use of acesulfame potassium and artificial flavors, and a price that has climbed well above where it sat a few years ago. Serving counts also vary by flavor, from about 68 to 75 per 5 lb-class tub.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Protein blend (whey protein isolate, whey protein concentrate, hydrolyzed whey protein) Isolate is listed first; whey digests quickly and is naturally rich in leucine. | 24 g protein | Isolate is listed first; whey digests quickly and is naturally rich in leucine. |
| Naturally occurring BCAAs Brand-stated figure; the BCAAs come from the whey itself, not added free-form amino acids. | 5.5 g | Brand-stated figure; the BCAAs come from the whey itself, not added free-form amino acids. |
| Acesulfame potassium Non-nutritive sweetener that keeps sugar at 1 g per scoop; amount not disclosed. | — | Non-nutritive sweetener that keeps sugar at 1 g per scoop; amount not disclosed. |
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 31 g (About 1 Scoop)
Servings Per Container 74
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. † Daily Value not established.
Other ingredients: Protein blend (whey protein isolate, whey protein concentrate, hydrolyzed whey protein), cocoa powder (processed with alkali), sunflower and/or soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavor, acesulfame potassium.
Contains: Milk, soy.
Flavors & variants
Testing & quality
Gold Standard 100% Whey, Gold Standard 100% Isolate, Essential AMIN.O. Energy, Creatine and Glutamine are Informed Choice certified (per the brand); other products are not all certified, so check each label.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Gold Standard 100% Whey on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

Transparent Labs
A grass-fed whey isolate with 28 g of protein per scoop, stevia instead of artificial sweeteners, and NSF Certified for Sport status.
An all-isolate whey with a hydrolyzed fraction: 25 g protein and about 2.7 g leucine per 120-calorie scoop, with Informed Choice testing.

A naturally sweetened whey isolate from Truly Grass Fed-certified Irish milk, with Labdoor certification and batch lab reports linked online.

Momentous
A premium grass-fed whey isolate with 20 g of protein per 90-calorie scoop, NSF Certified for Sport status and a short, gum-free ingredient list.

From the 0.8 g/kg RDA to the new 1.2–1.6 g/kg guideline: daily protein targets by goal, grams by body weight, per-meal timing, and advice for aging, dieting and vegans.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

What USP, NSF and Informed Sport seals actually test, how to verify a certification in two minutes, how to read a certificate of analysis, and where testing stops.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Protein %, lactose, leucine, digestion speed and cost per 25 g of protein: what separates whey concentrate, isolate and hydrolysate, and how to spot spiked labels.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026