
NeuroGum
Energy & Focus Gum
Portable, sugar-free caffeine gum with a fully disclosed, research-backed pairing: 40 mg of caffeine plus 60 mg of L-theanine in every piece.

A pricey 2 oz nootropic shot with 55 mg caffeine and 10+ adaptogens, but its actives sit in an undisclosed 11.7 g blend and it costs about $5 a shot.
Poor
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
Magic Mind is a convenient, pleasant way to get a mild caffeine lift with L-theanine, and some people clearly enjoy the ritual. But at about $5 a shot with undisclosed ingredient doses, you are paying a large premium for a formula you cannot verify; much of the effect is achievable with matcha or coffee plus L-theanine.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Magic Mind is a 2-ounce "mental performance shot" that packs a long list of nootropic and adaptogen ingredients into a small bottle. The Original contains 55 mg of caffeine from ceremonial-grade matcha and green tea, plus L-theanine, Cognizin citicoline, bacopa, ashwagandha, rhodiola, lion's mane, cordyceps and turmeric, along with vitamins C, D3, B2, B3 and B12. Magic Mind also sells a 165 mg MAXX version and a caffeine-free FREE version.
Several of these ingredients have real research behind them at the right doses: ashwagandha for perceived stress, bacopa for memory over several weeks, citicoline for attention, and caffeine with L-theanine for smoother focus. The catch is that you cannot tell whether Magic Mind uses those doses. The Supplement Facts shown on its Amazon listing place every non-vitamin active inside an 11.7 g proprietary "Mental Performance Formula", so the only disclosed stimulant figure is the caffeine. The same label lists 5 g of added sugar from organic agave, and the brand's "5x absorption" nano-encapsulation claim is hard to evaluate independently.
Much of Magic Mind's visibility comes from influencer campaigns and podcast sponsorships, and many online reviews were gifted or affiliate-linked. Buyers who like it describe smooth energy without jitters and a subtly sweet taste; the Amazon listing averages 4.0 stars.
The biggest drawback is price: about $5 per shot at the brand's discounted rate ($74.25 for 15) and about $6 at list price, far more than coffee plus a separate L-theanine capsule. Magic Mind says every batch is third-party tested.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Caffeine (from organic matcha and green tea) About half a cup of coffee; the most reliable source of the felt energy. | 55 mg | About half a cup of coffee; the most reliable source of the felt energy. |
| L-Theanine Undisclosed amount; commonly paired with caffeine for smoother focus. | — | Undisclosed amount; commonly paired with caffeine for smoother focus. |
| Citicoline (Cognizin) Studied at roughly 250–500 mg for attention; the amount here is not disclosed. | — | Studied at roughly 250–500 mg for attention; the amount here is not disclosed. |
| Bacopa monnieri Memory studies typically use about 300 mg daily for 8–12 weeks; amount undisclosed. | — | Memory studies typically use about 300 mg daily for 8–12 weeks; amount undisclosed. |
| Ashwagandha (root) Studied at 300–600 mg daily for perceived stress; amount undisclosed. | — | Studied at 300–600 mg daily for perceived stress; amount undisclosed. |
| Magic Mind Mental Performance Formula (proprietary blend) Per the label image on Amazon; includes the herbs, mushrooms, citicoline, L-theanine and caffeine. | 11.7 g (blend) | Per the label image on Amazon; includes the herbs, mushrooms, citicoline, L-theanine and caffeine. |
Testing & quality
States on its Amazon listing that every batch is third-party tested for purity, quality and consistency; no named certification was found.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Original Mental Performance Shot on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

NeuroGum
Portable, sugar-free caffeine gum with a fully disclosed, research-backed pairing: 40 mg of caffeine plus 60 mg of L-theanine in every piece.

Four Sigmatic
Real organic dark-roast coffee (about 150 mg caffeine per cup) with 250 mg each of lion's mane and chaga; tastes like coffee, but mushroom doses are modest.

Everyday Dose
A creamy, low-caffeine (45 mg) instant coffee with collagen and L-theanine; its chaga and lion's mane sit inside a 7.3 g proprietary blend.

RYZE
A smooth, low-caffeine (48 mg) organic mushroom coffee that went viral, but its 2 g six-mushroom blend is far below doses used in research.

Caffeine dosing by body weight, plus what research says about creatine, beta-alanine, citrulline, nitrates, tyrosine, proprietary blends and stimulant safety.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Ashwagandha has real trials for stress and sleep, rare but serious liver risks and growing regulatory scrutiny. What extract names mean and which doses were studied.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Collagen has dozens of trials behind it, but much of the research is industry-funded. What holds up for skin, joints and hair, plus the doses studies used.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026