
NeuroGum
Energy & Focus Gum
Portable, sugar-free caffeine gum with a fully disclosed, research-backed pairing: 40 mg of caffeine plus 60 mg of L-theanine in every piece.

Onnit's Joe Rogan-backed, caffeine-free nootropic; most ingredients sit in three proprietary blends, and the doses that are disclosed are small.
Poor
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
Alpha BRAIN is widely used and professionally made, but it is hard to justify on the evidence: key doses are hidden in proprietary blends, the disclosed amounts are below studied levels, and trial results are modest. A single well-dosed ingredient such as L-theanine costs far less.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Alpha BRAIN is Onnit's flagship nootropic, long promoted by podcaster Joe Rogan, and one of the most-reviewed brain supplements on Amazon, where the 90-count listing has more than 73,000 ratings. It is caffeine-free and built around calm-focus and acetylcholine-related ingredients: L-theanine, L-tyrosine, alpha-GPC, phosphatidylserine, huperzine A from toothed clubmoss, bacopa, cat's claw, oat straw extract, pterostilbene and vitamin B6. A serving is two capsules, and Onnit suggests starting with one.
The problem is dosing and disclosure. The Supplement Facts shown in the Amazon listing images group most of these ingredients into three proprietary blends (Onnit Flow Blend, 650 mg; Onnit Focus Blend, 240 mg; Onnit Fuel Blend, 60 mg), so buyers cannot see how much L-theanine, tyrosine or alpha-GPC they get. The few disclosed amounts are small: 100 mg of bacopa is well below the roughly 300 mg per day used in most memory studies, and alpha-GPC shares a 240 mg blend with two other ingredients, compared with the 300–1,200 mg typically studied.
The full formula has been tested in two randomized controlled trials, which few nootropics can claim, but independent reviewers, including a neurologist on YouTube, note that only a handful of the many measured outcomes improved. Huperzine A slows the breakdown of acetylcholine, so anyone taking prescription medications should check with a doctor first.
Onnit says it third-party tests for purity, and the capsules are vegetarian, gluten-free and IGEN Non-GMO tested. At $79.95 for 45 servings, it costs about $1.78 per day.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Onnit Flow Blend (L-tyrosine, L-theanine, oat straw extract, phosphatidylserine) Per the label image on Amazon; individual amounts are not disclosed, so theanine and tyrosine doses are unknown. | 650 mg (blend) | Per the label image on Amazon; individual amounts are not disclosed, so theanine and tyrosine doses are unknown. |
| Onnit Focus Blend (alpha-GPC, bacopa, toothed clubmoss standardized for huperzine A) Alpha-GPC studies typically use 300–1,200 mg, more than this entire blend. | 240 mg (blend) | Alpha-GPC studies typically use 300–1,200 mg, more than this entire blend. |
| Bacopa (leaf and stem) extract Disclosed within the Focus Blend; memory studies generally use about 300 mg daily for 8–12 weeks. | 100 mg | Disclosed within the Focus Blend; memory studies generally use about 300 mg daily for 8–12 weeks. |
| Cat's claw (bark) extract Human evidence for cognitive benefits is very limited. | 350 mg | Human evidence for cognitive benefits is very limited. |
| Vitamin B6 (as pyridoxine HCl) 588% of the Daily Value; supports neurotransmitter production but benefits mainly people who are low in B6. | 10 mg | 588% of the Daily Value; supports neurotransmitter production but benefits mainly people who are low in B6. |
| Onnit Fuel Blend (L-leucine, pterostilbene) Too small to expect meaningful effects. | 60 mg (blend) | Too small to expect meaningful effects. |
Testing & quality
States that it third-party tests its supplements for purity; Alpha BRAIN is labeled IGEN Non-GMO tested. No sport certification was verified.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Alpha BRAIN on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

NeuroGum
Portable, sugar-free caffeine gum with a fully disclosed, research-backed pairing: 40 mg of caffeine plus 60 mg of L-theanine in every piece.

Four Sigmatic
Real organic dark-roast coffee (about 150 mg caffeine per cup) with 250 mg each of lion's mane and chaga; tastes like coffee, but mushroom doses are modest.

Everyday Dose
A creamy, low-caffeine (45 mg) instant coffee with collagen and L-theanine; its chaga and lion's mane sit inside a 7.3 g proprietary blend.

RYZE
A smooth, low-caffeine (48 mg) organic mushroom coffee that went viral, but its 2 g six-mushroom blend is far below doses used in research.

Caffeine dosing by body weight, plus what research says about creatine, beta-alanine, citrulline, nitrates, tyrosine, proprietary blends and stimulant safety.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Ashwagandha has real trials for stress and sleep, rare but serious liver risks and growing regulatory scrutiny. What extract names mean and which doses were studied.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Collagen has dozens of trials behind it, but much of the research is industry-funded. What holds up for skin, joints and hair, plus the doses studies used.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026