
Huel
Black Edition
A complete vegan meal powder with 40 g protein, 11 g fiber and 27 vitamins and minerals per 400-calorie serving; fully disclosed, but the taste is divisive.

A USDA Organic, grass-fed dairy shake with 250 calories, 16 g of protein and 20 vitamins and minerals; closer to a light meal than most shakes, but low in fiber.
Mixed
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
Orgain's Organic Nutrition Shake is one of the few best-selling shakes actually designed to stand in for a light meal, with 250 calories, a broad vitamin and mineral blend and USDA Organic ingredients. Its 16 g of protein and 1 g of fiber are modest, and it relies on cane sugar and rice syrup for sweetness. Buy it on Amazon, where it was far cheaper than on Orgain's own site when we checked.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Orgain's Organic Nutrition Shake is the brand's flagship ready-to-drink shake and, unlike most protein shakes, it is marketed explicitly as a snack or meal replacement. When we checked, the Creamy Chocolate Fudge 12-pack ranked #6 in Meal Replacement Drinks on Amazon, with a 4.6-star average from more than 9,000 ratings. Each 11 fl oz carton provides 250 calories and 16 g of protein from organic grass-fed milk protein concentrate and whey protein concentrate, plus 20 vitamins and minerals and a powdered blend of ten organic fruits and vegetables.
It is certified USDA Organic and kosher, gluten-free, and made without soy ingredients, carrageenan or artificial sweeteners. Instead it is sweetened with organic cane sugar, organic brown rice syrup and monk fruit extract, so unlike Premier Protein or Core Power it contains added sugar. Orgain publishes the Nutrition Facts panel only as an image, so check the carton for exact sugar grams.
As a meal replacement it sits in the middle. The 250 calories and vitamin blend make it more complete than 160-calorie protein shakes, but 16 g of protein and 1 g of fiber are modest for a meal and may not keep you full for long. It contains milk and whey, and Orgain says it is not considered suitable for people with lactose intolerance; a vegan version is sold separately.
Price varies widely: a 12-pack costs $35.99 direct from Orgain, about $3 a shake, but was $25.57 when we checked. Buyers praise the organic ingredients and the chocolate and vanilla flavors, while texture feedback is mixed, with some reporting lumpy or curdled cartons.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Orgain Organic Protein Blend (grass-fed organic milk protein concentrate, organic whey protein concentrate) Complete dairy protein; Orgain says the milk comes from pasture-grazing cows. | 16 g protein | Complete dairy protein; Orgain says the milk comes from pasture-grazing cows. |
| Orgain Vitamin & Minerals Blend Orgain highlights vitamin B12, zinc, vitamins C, D and E, calcium and niacin. | 20 vitamins and minerals | Orgain highlights vitamin B12, zinc, vitamins C, D and E, calcium and niacin. |
| Orgain Organic Fruit & Vegetable Blend (apple fiber, acai, beet, kale, raspberry, spinach, tomato, banana, blueberry, carrot) Amount per serving not disclosed. | — | Amount per serving not disclosed. |
| Organic cane sugar, organic brown rice syrup and monk fruit extract Sweetener system; the shake contains added sugar. | — | Sweetener system; the shake contains added sugar. |
Flavors & variants
Testing & quality
Protein powders carry USDA Organic certification; the brand does not publish batch heavy-metal results, and a July 2026 proposed class action against Costco alleges heavy metals in its protein powder, which Orgain disputes.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Organic Nutrition Shake on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

Huel
A complete vegan meal powder with 40 g protein, 11 g fiber and 27 vitamins and minerals per 400-calorie serving; fully disclosed, but the taste is divisive.

Premier Protein
Amazon's best-selling protein shake: 30 g of milk protein for 160 calories at about $2 a shake, but too light to replace a full meal on its own.

Ka'Chava
A tasty plant-based shake with 25 g protein, 6 g fiber and 26 vitamins and minerals, but at about $4.66 a serving its long superfood list is mostly undosed.

An allergen-friendly vegan shake with 20 g of pea and pumpkin seed protein and no artificial sweeteners, but lower-quality protein and too few calories for a meal.

From the 0.8 g/kg RDA to the new 1.2–1.6 g/kg guideline: daily protein targets by goal, grams by body weight, per-meal timing, and advice for aging, dieting and vegans.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Ashwagandha has real trials for stress and sleep, rare but serious liver risks and growing regulatory scrutiny. What extract names mean and which doses were studied.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Collagen has dozens of trials behind it, but much of the research is industry-funded. What holds up for skin, joints and hair, plus the doses studies used.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026