
Vega's sport protein, formerly Vega Sport Premium Protein: 30 g plant protein, tart cherry and a probiotic per scoop, NSF Certified for Sport.

A 30 g vegan protein built for athletes: organic pea and bean proteins, NSF Certified for Sport, plus recovery botanicals and a probiotic.
Good
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
For vegan or dairy-free athletes who need certified sport nutrition, this is the plant protein to beat: 30 g of protein per serving, solid leucine and four third-party certifications. Its flavor and texture are divisive, so buy a single tub before committing to a subscription.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Garden of Life's Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein is one of the few vegan powders built squarely for athletes. Two scoops (about 45 g) deliver 30 g of protein from organic pea protein plus sprouted navy bean, lentil and garbanzo bean and cranberry seed protein, with 170 calories, 7 g of carbohydrate and less than 1 g of sugar. The listed amino acid profile shows about 2.5 g of leucine per serving, high for a plant protein and in the range associated with a robust muscle-building response.
Its credentials are the strongest in the plant-protein category: NSF Certified for Sport, USDA Organic, Non-GMO Project Verified and NSF gluten-free certified. For vegan athletes in tested sports, that combination is hard to find.
The formula also adds an organic recovery blend of apple, tart cherry, turmeric, blueberry and goji berry, and 2 billion CFU of the probiotic Bacillus subtilis DE111. The recovery blend's amounts are not disclosed, so its contribution is hard to judge; treat it as a minor extra.
Taste and texture are the weak spots. buyer ratings average 4.2 stars and the brand's own site shows 3.6, with reviewers split on sweetness from stevia, chalky or gritty texture, foaming when shaken and recent formula and flavor changes. Sodium is also notable at 460 mg per serving. At about $1.96 per serving, or roughly 6.5 cents per gram of protein, it is fairly priced for a certified organic plant protein, though the brand-site price of $47.99 is higher.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Organic performance protein blend (pea protein, sprouted navy bean, lentil and garbanzo bean, cranberry seed protein) Multi-source plant blend that supplies all essential amino acids. | 30 g protein | Multi-source plant blend that supplies all essential amino acids. |
| Leucine (naturally occurring) From the listed amino acid profile per 45 g serving; high for a plant protein. | 2,527 mg | From the listed amino acid profile per 45 g serving; high for a plant protein. |
| Organic recovery blend (apple, tart cherry, turmeric, blueberry, goji berry) Amounts not disclosed, so any recovery benefit is hard to assess. | — | Amounts not disclosed, so any recovery benefit is hard to assess. |
| Bacillus subtilis DE111 (probiotic) Spore-forming probiotic that the brand includes for immune support during hard training. | 2 billion CFU | Spore-forming probiotic that the brand includes for immune support during hard training. |
Nutrition Facts
Serving Size 2 scoops (about 45 g)
Servings Per Container 19
* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. † Daily Value not established.
Other ingredients: Organic performance protein blend: Organic pea protein, organic sprouted navy bean, organic sprouted lentil bean, organic sprouted garbanzo bean, organic cranberry protein (seed). Organic vanilla blend: Organic natural flavors, organic stevia extract (leaf), sea salt, organic guar gum. Organic recovery blend: Organic apple (fruit pulp), organic tart cherry (fruit), organic turmeric (root), organic blueberry (fruit), organic lycium barbarum L. (goji berry fruit). 2 Billion CFU Bacillus subtilis DE111 (at the time of expiration).
Flavors & variants
Testing & quality
SPORT protein products are listed in NSF's Certified for Sport database; many products are USDA Organic and Non-GMO Project Verified.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

Vega's sport protein, formerly Vega Sport Premium Protein: 30 g plant protein, tart cherry and a probiotic per scoop, NSF Certified for Sport.

Transparent Labs
A grass-fed whey isolate with 28 g of protein per scoop, stevia instead of artificial sweeteners, and NSF Certified for Sport status.

Optimum Nutrition
The benchmark whey blend: 24 g of protein per 120-calorie scoop, Informed Choice certified, and a flavor lineup few rivals can match.
An all-isolate whey with a hydrolyzed fraction: 25 g protein and about 2.7 g leucine per 120-calorie scoop, with Informed Choice testing.

From the 0.8 g/kg RDA to the new 1.2–1.6 g/kg guideline: daily protein targets by goal, grams by body weight, per-meal timing, and advice for aging, dieting and vegans.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

What USP, NSF and Informed Sport seals actually test, how to verify a certification in two minutes, how to read a certificate of analysis, and where testing stops.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Protein %, lactose, leucine, digestion speed and cost per 25 g of protein: what separates whey concentrate, isolate and hydrolysate, and how to spot spiked labels.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026