Skip to content
Nutrition ReviewsNutrition Reviews — home

Probiotics supplements, compared

17 products we’ve reviewed list probiotics as a key ingredient. Here’s what it does, what the research uses — and how much each product actually contains.

What it is

Live microorganisms whose effects depend on the specific strain — results for one strain don’t carry over to another.

What the research uses

Doses are listed in colony-forming units (CFU). Many products contain 1–10 billion CFU per dose, but higher counts don’t necessarily mean better results. Look for strains listed by name and a count guaranteed through the expiration date.

People who are critically ill or immunocompromised should talk to a doctor first.

Educational information, not medical advice. Talk to a healthcare professional before starting a supplement, especially if you are pregnant, nursing or take medication.

Every product, dose by dose

ProductProbiotics per servingFormScore
Grass Fed Collagen Peptides
Garden of LifeGrass Fed Collagen Peptides
NSF Contents CertifiedCertified Gluten-Free
250 million CFU (2.5 mg)Bacillus coagulans SNZ 1969Powder8.2
Performance Protein + Recovery (formerly Vega Sport Premium Protein)
VegaPerformance Protein + Recovery (formerly Vega Sport Premium Protein)
NSF Certified for Sport
2 billion CFUBacillus subtilis DE111 (probiotic)Powder8.1
Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein
Garden of LifeSport Organic Plant-Based Protein
NSF Certified for SportUSDA OrganicNon-GMO Project VerifiedCertified Gluten-Free
2 billion CFUBacillus subtilis DE111 (probiotic)Powder8.1
Digestive Daily Probiotic Capsules
CulturelleDigestive Daily Probiotic Capsules
cGMP facility
40 mg (10 billion CFUs)Lactobacillus rhamnosus GGCapsule8.0
DS-01 Daily Synbiotic
SeedDS-01 Daily Synbiotic
Third-party tested
224 mg / 38.7 billion AFUDigestive Health Probiotic Blend (16 strains)36 mg / 7.32 billion AFUMicronutrient Synthesis Probiotic Blend (2 strains)36 mg / 3.34 billion AFUDermatological Health Probiotic Blend (4 strains)13 mg / 4.21 billion AFUCardiovascular Health Probiotic Blend (2 strains)Capsule7.4
Next Gen Daily Foundational Nutrition
AG1Next Gen Daily Foundational Nutrition
NSF Certified for Sport
37 mg (10 billion viable cells)Dairy-free probiotic blend (L. rhamnosus GG, L. acidophilus NCFM, B. lactis HN019, L. casei LC-11, L. plantarum LP-115)Powder7.3
60 Billion Probiotic
Physician's Choice60 Billion Probiotic
Non-GMO Project VerifiedThird-party testedcGMP facility
220 mg / 60 billion CFUProbiotic Blend (10 species)Capsule7.2
All-In-One Nutrition Shake
Ka'ChavaAll-In-One Nutrition Shake
Third-party testedcGMP facility
6 g fiberFiber & Probiotics Blend (flax, acacia gum, chia, soluble corn fiber, chicory root, L. rhamnosus Lrha51, L. acidophilus UALa-01)Powder7.2
Multi Collagen Protein
Ancient NutritionMulti Collagen Protein
cGMP facility
2 billion CFUBacillus coagulans SNZ-1969 or IDCC1201Powder7.0
Synbiotic+
RitualSynbiotic+
Third-party testedNon-GMO Project VerifiedClean Label Project
40 mg (11 billion CFU at expiration)Probiotic Blend: Lactobacillus rhamnosus (LGG®) and Bifidobacterium animalis ssp. lactis (BB-12®)Capsule7.0
Women Hair Growth Nutraceutical
NutrafolWomen Hair Growth Nutraceutical
NSF Certified for Sport
Not disclosedBacillus subtilis DE111Capsule6.9
Raw Organic Perfect Food Green Superfood Juiced Greens Powder
Garden of LifeRaw Organic Perfect Food Green Superfood Juiced Greens Powder
USDA OrganicCertified Gluten-FreeCertified Vegan
30 mg (250 million CFU at expiration)Raw Probiotic & Enzyme Blend with Bacillus subtilis DE111Powder6.8
Super Greens The Original
Amazing GrassSuper Greens The Original
KoshercGMP facility
10 mg (1 billion CFU)Bacillus subtilis DE111Powder6.8
24/7 Digestive Support Probiotic
Align24/7 Digestive Support Probiotic
1 billion CFU at manufacture; 10 million CFU guaranteed through the best-by dateBifidobacterium longum subsp. longum 35624™ (formerly B. infantis 35624)Capsule6.6
Greens & Superfoods
Bloom NutritionGreens & Superfoods
Third-party testedcGMP facility
648 mgPre and Probiotic Blend (blue agave inulin, B. bifidum, L. rhamnosus, L. acidophilus)Powder6.1
Super Greens
Live it UpSuper Greens
Third-party testedcGMP facility
500 mg (5 billion CFU)Probiotic Blend (L. acidophilus LA85, L. casei LC89, B. bifidum BBi32, B. lactis Bla80)Powder5.9
GLP-1 Probiotic
PendulumGLP-1 Probiotic
500 million AFU (total)Probiotic Blend: Clostridium butyricum WB-STR-0006, Akkermansia muciniphila WB-STR-0001, Bifidobacterium infantisCapsule4.9

Amounts are per serving as printed on each label. “Not disclosed” usually means the ingredient sits inside a proprietary blend.

Questions people ask

How much probiotics do studies use?
Doses are listed in colony-forming units (CFU). Many products contain 1–10 billion CFU per dose, but higher counts don’t necessarily mean better results. Look for strains listed by name and a count guaranteed through the expiration date.
Which probiotics supplement scores highest?
In our reviews, Garden of Life Grass Fed Collagen Peptides scores highest at 8.2/10, followed by Vega Performance Protein + Recovery (formerly Vega Sport Premium Protein) (8.1) and Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein (8.1). Scores weigh efficacy, quality, value, experience and transparency — not just the dose.
How much probiotics is in these products?
It varies by product and serving size — for example Garden of Life Grass Fed Collagen Peptides (250 million CFU (2.5 mg)), Vega Performance Protein + Recovery (formerly Vega Sport Premium Protein) (2 billion CFU), Garden of Life Sport Organic Plant-Based Protein (2 billion CFU). The table above lists the amount per serving for every product we've reviewed.

Go deeper