
NeuroGum
Energy & Focus Gum
Portable, sugar-free caffeine gum with a fully disclosed, research-backed pairing: 40 mg of caffeine plus 60 mg of L-theanine in every piece.

A smooth, low-caffeine (48 mg) organic mushroom coffee that went viral, but its 2 g six-mushroom blend is far below doses used in research.
Poor
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
RYZE is a pleasant, lower-caffeine coffee alternative, and that alone may justify it for jittery coffee drinkers. As a functional product it is overhyped: the undisclosed six-mushroom blend is too small and too diluted to expect the benefits its marketing implies, and you pay a steep premium per cup.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
RYZE is the mushroom coffee that social media made famous. Each serving blends organic instant arabica coffee with RYZE's organic "Super6" mushroom blend (cordyceps, reishi, turkey tail, king trumpet, shiitake and lion's mane) and a prebiotic fiber blend of acacia, inulin and tapioca fiber. The medium roast delivers 48 mg of caffeine per cup, roughly half a typical cup of brewed coffee, while RYZE says its dark roast has 80–90 mg.
The lower caffeine is the most dependable part of the pitch: people who get jittery on regular coffee may genuinely prefer it. The mushroom claims are much weaker. RYZE lists about 2 g of mushrooms per serving across six species and does not disclose how much of each is included. Human trials on lion's mane, cordyceps and reishi generally test gram-level doses of a single, often extracted, species over several weeks, and even those studies are small with mixed results. Split six ways, each mushroom here is likely present at a fraction of the studied amounts. Evidence-focused reviewers on YouTube, including a naturopathic doctor and a mushroom farmer, reach similar conclusions.
Buyers who like RYZE tend to praise the smooth, nutty taste, the lack of a crash and the added fiber, while critics point to an earthy flavor, the price and no noticeable effects. At $45 for 30 servings on RYZE's site (about $1.50 per cup), it costs several times more than home-brewed coffee. It is USDA Organic, vegan and gluten-free, but we could not find published third-party contaminant testing.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Organic instant arabica coffee Medium roast; RYZE says the dark roast provides 80–90 mg. The main source of any felt energy. | 48 mg caffeine | Medium roast; RYZE says the dark roast provides 80–90 mg. The main source of any felt energy. |
| Organic Super6 mushroom blend (cordyceps, reishi, turkey tail, king trumpet, shiitake, lion's mane) Individual amounts are not disclosed; studies typically test 1–3 g of a single species. | 2,000 mg (blend) | Individual amounts are not disclosed; studies typically test 1–3 g of a single species. |
| Lion's mane (within blend) Small human trials suggest possible mild cognitive effects at gram-level doses; the amount here is unknown. | — | Small human trials suggest possible mild cognitive effects at gram-level doses; the amount here is unknown. |
| Cordyceps (within blend) Human research on energy and exercise performance is limited and mixed. | — | Human research on energy and exercise performance is limited and mixed. |
| Organic prebiotic blend (acacia, inulin, tapioca fiber) Adds soluble fiber; inulin can cause gas or bloating in sensitive people. | — | Adds soluble fiber; inulin can cause gas or bloating in sensitive people. |
Flavors & variants
Testing & quality
Markets its mushroom coffee as certified USDA Organic; no published third-party contaminant testing was found.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Mushroom Coffee on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

NeuroGum
Portable, sugar-free caffeine gum with a fully disclosed, research-backed pairing: 40 mg of caffeine plus 60 mg of L-theanine in every piece.

Four Sigmatic
Real organic dark-roast coffee (about 150 mg caffeine per cup) with 250 mg each of lion's mane and chaga; tastes like coffee, but mushroom doses are modest.

Everyday Dose
A creamy, low-caffeine (45 mg) instant coffee with collagen and L-theanine; its chaga and lion's mane sit inside a 7.3 g proprietary blend.

Magic Mind
A pricey 2 oz nootropic shot with 55 mg caffeine and 10+ adaptogens, but its actives sit in an undisclosed 11.7 g blend and it costs about $5 a shot.

Caffeine dosing by body weight, plus what research says about creatine, beta-alanine, citrulline, nitrates, tyrosine, proprietary blends and stimulant safety.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Ashwagandha has real trials for stress and sleep, rare but serious liver risks and growing regulatory scrutiny. What extract names mean and which doses were studied.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Collagen has dozens of trials behind it, but much of the research is industry-funded. What holds up for skin, joints and hair, plus the doses studies used.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026