
Viviscal
Hair Growth Supplement
A drug-free hair supplement built on the AminoMar marine complex plus zinc, vitamin C and modest biotin, with company-funded trials; cheaper than Nutrafol but still pricey.

Dermatologist-favorite hair supplement, NSF Certified for Sport and now biotin-free and vegan; backed by company-funded trials but $88 a month and built on proprietary blends.
Mixed
Nutrition Reviews score
Weighted across efficacy, quality, value, experience & transparency. See breakdown
We may earn a commission when you buy through these links — it never affects our scores. How we make money
Last reviewed September 29, 2026 by the Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · How we review
Our verdict
Nutrafol Women is the most credible of the heavily marketed hair supplements: NSF Certified for Sport, dermatologist-endorsed and supported by a controlled trial of its original formula. But it costs about $1,000 a year, hides doses in proprietary blends, and its new biotin-free formula has less published evidence. Get a diagnosis first, and try it for six months only if the budget allows.
Best for
Skip it if
Our five-factor score out of 10. Factors are weighted by how much they matter to the outcome you’re paying for. Methodology
out of 10
Key ingredients at clinically studied doses, and how strong the evidence is.
Third-party testing and certifications, manufacturing standards, contaminant testing, recall history.
Cost per effective serving compared with category peers.
Taste, mixability, texture and tolerability from aggregated buyer and creator feedback.
Full label disclosure (no proprietary blends), available COAs, honest marketing.
Nutrafol Women is the best-known hair-growth supplement for women aged 18-44 and a regular recommendation from dermatologist creators on TikTok. The current formula takes a multi-target approach rather than relying on biotin: Nutrafol describes a Synergen Plant Complex with Sensoril ashwagandha, saw palmetto, curcumin, tocotrienols and Moldavian dragonshead, plus the probiotic Bacillus subtilis DE111, pea sprout and bamboo silica. A recent reformulation removed biotin and shrank the capsules, and Amazon's listing describes the ingredients as 100% vegan. The dose is four capsules daily for at least three to six months.
The evidence is better than for most hair supplements but comes with caveats. A six-month randomized, placebo-controlled trial of the original formula, run by the company, reported more terminal and vellus hairs in women with self-perceived thinning, and a 2023 JAMA Dermatology systematic review listed Nutrafol among supplements with potential benefit. The trials are small and industry-funded, results for the new formula have not yet been published in a peer-reviewed journal, and the ingredients sit in proprietary complexes without individual amounts. We could not find the current Supplement Facts panel as text, so we have not reproduced it.
Quality is a clear strength: Nutrafol says its Hair Growth Nutraceuticals are NSF Certified for Sport, and NSF's database lists Nutrafol Women. Cost is the biggest drawback at $88 for a one-month bottle, and Amazon's review summary is mixed on results, with some buyers reporting stomach upset or diarrhea. Dermatologists on YouTube stress that hair thinning has many causes, so a medical diagnosis should come first. Nutrafol itself advises consulting a healthcare professional before starting, especially alongside other medications or supplements.
| Key ingredient | Per serving | Why it matters |
|---|---|---|
| Sensoril ashwagandha Adaptogen included to target stress-related shedding; dose not disclosed. | — | Adaptogen included to target stress-related shedding; dose not disclosed. |
| Saw palmetto Botanical studied for its effect on DHT; part of the proprietary complex. | — | Botanical studied for its effect on DHT; part of the proprietary complex. |
| Moldavian dragonshead New ingredient the brand says supports collagen production and 'cellular longevity pathways'. | — | New ingredient the brand says supports collagen production and 'cellular longevity pathways'. |
| Bacillus subtilis DE111 Probiotic added in the reformulation to target the gut microbiome. | — | Probiotic added in the reformulation to target the gut microbiome. |
| Curcumin and tocotrienols Antioxidant botanicals carried over from the original Synergen Complex. | — | Antioxidant botanicals carried over from the original Synergen Complex. |
Testing & quality
States that its Hair Growth Nutraceuticals are NSF Certified for Sport, which includes banned-substance, heavy-metal and pesticide testing, label claim verification and facility audits; NSF's database lists multiple Nutrafol products.
Goals it supports
Independent creators reviewing Women Hair Growth Nutraceutical on TikTok and YouTube.
What we like
Watch-outs
Similar products, ranked by our score.

Viviscal
A drug-free hair supplement built on the AminoMar marine complex plus zinc, vitamin C and modest biotin, with company-funded trials; cheaper than Nutrafol but still pricey.

Nature's Bounty
A budget biotin gummy with 70,000+ buyer ratings: 2,500 mcg biotin plus a little vitamin C and E for about $0.19 a day; weak evidence it helps without a deficiency.

An NSF-certified grapefruit gummy with 2,500 mcg biotin, 50 mg keratin and vitamins C and E: well made and well liked, but backed by weak hair-and-nail evidence.

OLLY
A best-selling berry gummy with 800 IU D3, folate and iodine, NSF certified; a partial multi with no iron, little zinc and 2 g added sugar.

Collagen has dozens of trials behind it, but much of the research is industry-funded. What holds up for skin, joints and hair, plus the doses studies used.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

How creator commissions work, what TikTok and the FTC require, where counterfeit and contamination risks hide, and a 10-minute checklist before you tap 'buy'.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026

Ashwagandha has real trials for stress and sleep, rare but serious liver risks and growing regulatory scrutiny. What extract names mean and which doses were studied.
Nutrition Reviews Editorial Team · Sep 28, 2026